Fantasy Premier League Rankings: Top Defenders (Updated)
Fantasy Premier League Rankings: Top Defenders (Updated)

This article is part of our Fantasy Premier League Rankings series.

The close of the transfer window finally ended the ridiculous rumors of players like Karim Benzema and Paul Pogba coming to the Premier League, and it's now time to focus on the players we'll actually get to have in our fantasy teams (I know, the rumors will start up again in December ahead of the January transfer window...and yes, I love the shenanigans).

Anyway, with new players coming into the league, we've updated our season-long positional rankings to include those new players, or adjust others who've had their role change thanks to new teammates.

We started off with the goalkeepers and now we move onto the defenders.

1 Aleksandar Kolarov 184 11 Cedric Soares 100 21 Gary Cahill 62
2 Nathaniel Clyne 178 12 Nacho Monreal 95 22 Ryan Bertrand 62
3 Vincent Kompany 163 13 Luke Shaw 91 23 Pablo Zabaleta 61
4 Branislav Ivanovic 160 14 Leighton Baines 87 24 Kyle Naughton 61
5 Hector Bellerin 157 15 Martin Skrtel 82 25 John Terry 60
6 Matteo Darmian 139 16 Chris Smalling 75 26 Per Mertesacker 57
7 Aaron Cresswell 129 17 Phil Jagielka 72 27 Nicolas Otamendi 45
8 Seamus Coleman 121 18 Danny Rose 70 28 John Stones 44
9 Cesar Azpilicueta 115 19 Joe Gomez 67 29 Jose Fonte 38
10 Laurent Koscielny 102 20 Bacary Sagna 65 30 Simon Francis 36

And here is how the voting broke down:

1 Aleksandar Kolarov Aleksandar Kolarov Aleksandar Kolarov Leighton Baines Branislav Ivanovic Aleksandar Kolarov Aleksandar Kolarov
2 Nathaniel Clyne Matteo Darmian Vincent Kompany Branislav Ivanovic Laurent Koscielny Vincent Kompany Nathaniel Clyne
3 Hector Bellerin Hector Bellerin Seamus Coleman Gary Cahill Leighton Baines Nathaniel Clyne Aaron Cresswell
4 Vincent Kompany Nathaniel Clyne Branislav Ivanovic Aleksandar Kolarov Per Mertesacker Chris Smalling Danny Rose
5 Matteo Darmian Joe Gomez Hector Bellerin John Terry Pablo Zabaleta Luke Shaw Ryan Bertrand
6 Branislav Ivanovic Vincent Kompany Matteo Darmian Martin Skrtel Matteo Darmian Bacary Sagna Branislav Ivanovic
7 Seamus Coleman Cesar Azpilicueta Aaron Cresswell Seamus Coleman Nathaniel Clyne John Stones Cesar Azpilicueta
8 Aaron Cresswell Aaron Cresswell Cesar Azpilicueta Hector Bellerin Cesar Azpilicueta Martin Skrtel Phil Jagielka
9 Cedric Soares Chris Smalling Laurent Koscielny Kieran Trippier Toby Alderweireld Laurent Koscielny Nacho Monreal
10 Kyle Naughton Cedric Soares Phil Jagielka Nathaniel Clyne Vincent Kompany Cedric Soares Jose Fonte
11 Simon Francis Nacho Monreal Nathaniel Clyne Per Mertesacker Gael Clichy Eliaquim Mangala Matteo Darmian
12 Nacho Monreal Branislav Ivanovic Cedric Soares Aaron Cresswell Gary Cahill Nicolas Otamendi Hector Bellerin
13 Ryan Bertrand Bacary Sagna Bacary Sagna Laurent Koscielny John Terry Hector Bellerin Seamus Coleman
14 Danny Rose Leighton Baines Martin Skrtel Pablo Zabaleta Chris Smalling Nacho Monreal Vincent Kompany
15 Glen Johnson Seamus Coleman Kyle Naughton Daryl Janmaat Martin Skrtel Joe Gomez Luke Shaw
16 Joe Gomez Ryan Bertrand Nicolas Otamendi Vincent Kompany Hector Bellerin Joel Ward Cedric Soares
17 Jordan Amavi Kyle Naughton Luke Shaw Phil Jagielka Jan Vertonghen Matteo Darmian Pablo Zabaleta
18 Luke Shaw Danny Rose Ashley Williams Danny Rose Luke Shaw Scott Dann Gary Cahill
19 Cesar Azpilicueta Johnny Evans Nacho Monreal Joleon Lescott Kieran Gibbs Aaron Cresswell Joleon Lescott
20 Laurent Koscielny Simon Francis Jordan Amavi Antonio Valencia Seamus Coleman Dejan Lovren Ashley Williams
21 John Stones Patrick van Aanholt Per Mertesacker Craig Dawson Mathieu Debuchy Kyle Naughton Toby Alderweireld
22 Daryl Janmaat Micah Richards Leighton Baines Luke Shaw Kurt Zouma Cesar Azpilicueta Nicolas Otamendi
23 Ashley Williams Franck Tabanou Joe Gomez Carl Jenkinson Phil Jagielka Jose Fonte Jan Vertonghen
24 John Terry Pape Souare Joel Ward Marcos Rojo Aleksandar Kolarov Steven Caulker John Stones
25 Leandro Bacuna Scott Dann Jose Fonte Kieran Gibbs Mamadou Sakho Phil Jagielka Glen Johnson
26 Micah Richards Jordan Amavi John Terry Simon Francis Nacho Monreal Branislav Ivanovic Chris Smalling
27 Pablo Zabaleta John Terry Chris Smalling Mathieu Debuchy Bacary Sagna Eric Dier Steven Caulker
28 DeAndre Yedlin Leandro Bacuna Toby Alderweireld Jose Fonte John Stones Jan Vertonghen Leighton Baines
29 Kyle Walker Andre Wisdom Daryl Janmaat Ryan Bertrand Nicolas Otamendi Gary Cahill Joe Gomez
30 Allan Nyom DeAndre Yedlin Ryan Bertrand Cedric Soares Cedric Soares Kieran Trippier Martin Skrtel
RotoWire Community
Join Our Subscriber-Only Soccer Chat
Chat with our writers and other RotoWire Soccer fans for all the pre-game info and in-game banter.
Join The Discussion
Andrew M. Laird
Andrew M. Laird, the 2017 and 2018 FSWA Soccer Writer of the Year, is RotoWire's Head of DFS Content and Senior Soccer Editor. He is a seven-time FSWA award finalist, including twice for the Football Writer of the Year Award
Yahoo DFS Soccer: Saturday EPL Picks
Yahoo DFS Soccer: Saturday EPL Picks
Dream11 Fantasy Soccer: Manchester City v. Tottenham Preview
Dream11 Fantasy Soccer: Manchester City v. Tottenham Preview
FanDuel Fantasy Soccer: Saturday EPL Targets
FanDuel Fantasy Soccer: Saturday EPL Targets
DraftKings Fantasy Soccer: Saturday EPL Picks
DraftKings Fantasy Soccer: Saturday EPL Picks
Fantasy Soccer Podcast: Sat, Aug. 17 DraftKings EPL Preview
Fantasy Soccer Podcast: Sat, Aug. 17 DraftKings EPL Preview
MLS Fantasy Rankings: Week 24
MLS Fantasy Rankings: Week 24