RotoWire Partners
RotoWire Blogs
All Sports
Baseball
Football
Basketball
Hockey
Golf
Recent Comments
Featured Bloggers
Chris Liss
Jeff Erickson
Dalton Del Don
Andre' Snellings
Erik Siegrist
Jason Thornbury
Peter Schoenke
Multi-Media
About RSS
Podcasts
More info
FANTASY LEAGUES
Baseball Commissioner
FANTASY FOOTBALL
Fantasy Football News
Fantasy Football Draft Kit
Fantasy Football Magazine
Football Draft Software
FANTASY BASEBALL
Fantasy Baseball News
Draft Kit
Magazine
Draft Software
Email Reports
Email Preferences

RotoWire.com Fantasy Baseball Blog
Search All of RotoWire.com Blogs:

BlogsAll Sports   Baseball   Football   Basketball   Hockey   Golf  

Two Scoring Pet Peeves
Posted by Jeff Erickson at 7/28/2008 1:20:00 AM
View more posts by this author

 

In addition to a general sense that official scorers are increasingly hesitant to give out errors, two scoring rules never cease to annoy me:

1. When a pitcher's own throwing error causes the runs that he allows to be unearned - Rudy Seanez on the Phillies is just the latest example of a pitcher benefiting from his own error.

2. When a ball drops between two players but goes untouched, there's no error given because neither fielder touched it.


Comments....

I agree with both.

I also hate the "you can't assume a double play" ruling.
Simple ground ball to SS, throw to 2nd for the force out, throw the ball past the 1B and we can't call that an error?
Posted by TheSportsguy at 7/28/2008 5:47:00 AM
 
THANK YOU! There are few things that annoy me as much at a ballgame than an official scorer who should be working a Little League game (which, as near as I can figure, is about 1 out of every 2 games I attend). How about when there is a fly ball to the outfield and the outfielder makes a short jog and the ball hits off his glove and lands on the ground? He wasn't fully extended or diving, it just hit his glove and he missed it. Official Scorer: Base Hit. Base hit? I, after about 40 years of watching and playing baseball, have no idea what the official scorer uses as a criteria. I use a simple criteria: "Should the fielder have made the play, or not?" If he should have made the play, THEN IT'S AN ERROR! "TheSportsguy" is right; you CAN assume a double play. These are professionals for crise sake, they SHOULD make the play or it's an error.
Posted by Farquaad at 7/28/2008 8:07:00 AM
 
The pitcher's error thing bothers the hell out of me. How did the pitcher not earn the run if he made the error?
Posted by uwmichael at 7/28/2008 8:14:00 AM
 
I disagree with number one. The earned run is a statistic kept for the pitcher. Once the ball is put in play the pitcher is now a fielder, no different than a shortstop...it is irrelevant at this point who commits the error.

I agree with number two. There is no way a hit should be credited in this situation. This could easily be resoved by assigning a "team error."

Baseball is not consistent in this area anyway. When an infielder foolishly attempts to throw out a lead runner but is unsuccessful they don't credit a hit, it is a "fielder's choice," even though everyone is safe just like that ball that drops between two outfielders.
Posted by Skinsnutt at 7/28/2008 8:17:00 AM
 
Can we talk about Wes Littleton's save in the 30-3 game won by the Rangers last year? Or when a starting pitcher goes 4 2/3 innings, leaves with a lead, and a victory is awarded to a reliever who did far less effective work in the game?
Posted by vtadave at 7/28/2008 8:21:00 AM
 
I have never understood the starting pitcher rule. I starting pitcher goes 4 2/3 and leaves with a big lead that holds up. A reliever comes in and pitches one inning and he gets the win because the starter didn't do enough? Go figure.
Posted by bvg2723 at 7/28/2008 8:30:00 AM
 
Add to that "defensive indifference"

If a team has a 3-run lead and a guy goes from 1st to 2nd .. there's still some risk he gets thrown out. Call it a cheap steal ... but it's still a stolen base.
Posted by schoenke at 7/28/2008 8:33:00 AM
 
I like defensive indifference as long as it's clear they're giving him the base. A catcher shouldn't get credited with a guy stealing a base against him in that situation. Skins, I'd like to retract my previous statement and agree with you on the pitcher's error. I was coming back to say that actually the pitcher making an error isn't indicative of his pitching performance but his fielding performance so it should indeed be an unearned run. Good point there.
Posted by uwmichael at 7/28/2008 9:11:00 AM
 
dfgsdfgsdfgsdfg
sdkfaslkdfasdf
sadfkasldf]
asdfkasdf
asdfkasdf
asdfkasd
fasldfasdflasdfasd;fasdf
Posted by jagannathdora at 7/28/2008 9:41:00 AM
 
I agree with jag's cat.
Posted by ESiegrist at 7/28/2008 9:52:00 AM
 
I hate seeing a reliever get hammered, allow the opposition to tie the game, then collect a win because his team goes ahead in the next half-inning. There's a "scorer's discretion" rule that allows for the win to be given to someone else in situations like that, but it's seldom used.
Posted by spianow at 7/28/2008 11:21:00 AM
 
I also dislike that you can't give an error for slowly fielding a groundball. On Sunday in Baltimore, Eric Aybar waited back on a ball that he should have charged, and then rushed the throw and threw wildly past first. Fahey was awarded a Hit and the error was charged on the ovberthrow that allowed him to go to second.

The scorer reasoned that a good throw would not have gotten Fahey. And while probably true, if Aybar attacks the ball, the play at first wouldn't have been close.

And the game was in Baltimore, so we might as well hand out as many hits to the home team as possible.
Posted by iceguy at 7/28/2008 12:15:00 PM
 
And the game was in Baltimore, so we might as well hand out as many hits to the home team as possible.

Posted by shameem at 7/28/2008 1:41:00 PM
 
Mental errors should be errors. I once owned Brandon Lyon when he was the closer for the Bosox. There was one out and 2 guys on. He gets the batter to hit a lazy fly ball to Trot Nixon in right. Nixon catches the ball....and then underhands it into the stands, thinking it was the 3rd out. The bases clear and Lyon gets charged with 2 earned runs, because Nixon is a moron. No way should those have been EARNED runs.
Posted by lvtdude at 7/28/2008 10:18:00 PM
 
How about a hit batter doesn't affect your WHIP, but an intentional walk does? Plunk him.
Posted by lvtdude at 7/28/2008 10:22:00 PM
 

You must be logged in to post a comment. Click here to log in or register with RotoWire.com.