South Africa vs. Australia: T20I Series Preview

South Africa vs. Australia: T20I Series Preview


Series: Australia tour of South Africa, 2020

Venue: The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Date: February 21, 2020

Time: 09:30 p.m. IST


Both teams will be playing their first bilateral T20I series after 2018/2019, where South Africa won the match 21 runs. Both teams are coming to this match after losing their previous bilateral series. South Africa lost their last T20I series against England at home recently while on the other hand, Australia lost their ODI series against India last month. Looking at the overall H2H stats in 19 T20I matches, Australia won 11, and rest goes into the account of South Africa.


The average 1st and 2nd innings score at The Wanderers Stadium is around 169 and 143 respectively. Moreover, 28 matches are played this venue where the home side won 13, away side won 7 and neutral side won 8. Nevertheless, South Africa and Australia have played four T20I games at this venue, where South Africa won three and Australia won just one.


Here is the breakdown of the top performers at this venue in both batting and bowling department.


Faf du Plessis (South Africa): Du Plessis, who recently relinquished his captaincy from Test and T20I format has a excellent record at this venue. Where in four games, he smashed 242 runs with an average of 80.67, including a century and a half-century. Definitely, a player to watch out for this game.

David Miller (South Africa): Miller, who recently shown some

Want to Read More?
Subscribe to RotoWire to see the full article.

We reserve some of our best content for our paid subscribers. Plus, if you choose to subscribe you can discuss this article with the author and the rest of the RotoWire community.

Get Instant Access To This Article Get Access To This Article
RotoWire Community
Join Our Subscriber-Only Cricket Chat
Chat with our writers and other RotoWire Cricket fans for all the pre-game info and in-game banter.
Join The Discussion
Ajay Patil
Ajay Patil writes about fantasy cricket and soccer for RotoWire. He has been active in DFS cricket, NBA and soccer since 2015.
Sleepers for BBL 2020-21
Sleepers for BBL 2020-21
BBL 2020-21: New rules for Australia’s premier T20 competition
BBL 2020-21: New rules for Australia’s premier T20 competition
Sleepers for IPL 2020
Sleepers for IPL 2020
Five major absentees from IPL 2020
Five major absentees from IPL 2020