RotoWire Partners

Fantasy Premier League Rankings: January Update

Andrew M. Laird

Andrew M. Laird, a four-time FSWA Award finalist, is RotoWire's Senior Soccer Editor and an editor for the site's NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL, CBB and DFS content.

Before the transfer window action really picks up, we thought it was a good time to update our season rankings. Just like last time, I and three other RotoWire soccer contributors ranked our top-20 forwards, midfielders and defensemen, and our top-10 goalkeepers. We ranked the players as to where we thought they would finish the season, starting today.

Points were assigned to each player based on their ranking by each writer: 20 points for a first place vote, 19 points for a second place vote, 18 points for a third place vote, and so on. The rankings reflect how we think each position will finish by the end of the season.

Luis Suarez takes our top striker spot, the only unanimous pick at any position. With 20 goals and five assists in only 16 appearances, it's tough to argue with that.

Rankings last updated January 6, 2014

1 Luis Suarez Yaya Toure Seamus Coleman Wojciech Szczesny
2 Sergio Aguero Aaron Ramsey Leighton Baines Tim Howard
3 Wayne Rooney Mesut Ozil Per Mertesacker Petr Cech
4 Romelu Lukaku Eden Hazard Pablo Zabaleta Simon Mignolet
5 Olivier Giroud Steven Gerrard Kyle Walker Hugo Lloris
6 Loic Remy Adam Lallana Patrice Evra Tim Krul
7 Alvaro Negredo David Silva Branislav Ivanovic David de Gea
8 Robin van Persie Samir Nasri Laurent Koscielny Jussi Jaaskelainen
9 Rickie Lambert Yohan Cabaye Phil Jagielka Brad Guzan
10 Daniel Sturridge Oscar John Terry Joe Hart
11 Christian Benteke Kevin Mirallas Vincent Kompany
12 Jay Rodriguez Ross Barkley Jan Vertonghen
13 Roberto Soldado Jesus Navas Bacary Sagna
14 Yoan Gouffran Frank Lampard Martin Skrtel
15 E. Adebayor Philippe Coutinho Dejan Lovren
16 Danny Welbeck Santi Cazorla Chico
17 Wilfried Bony Jordan Henderson Aleksandar Kolarov
18 Gary Hooper Jonjo Shelvey Steven Caulker
19 Gabriel Agbonlahor Moussa Sissoko Ben Davies
20 Edin Dzeko Kevin Nolan Gary Cahill


1 Luis Suarez 80 Luis Suarez Luis Suarez Luis Suarez Luis Suarez
2 Sergio Aguero 74 Sergio Aguero Romelu Lukaku Wayne Rooney Sergio Aguero
3 Wayne Rooney 71 Wayne Rooney Sergio Aguero Sergio Aguero Romelu Lukaku
4 Romelu Lukaku 70 Romelu Lukaku Wayne Rooney Olivier Giroud Wayne Rooney
5 Olivier Giroud 72 Olivier Giroud Olivier Giroud Romelu Lukaku Lois Remy
6 Loic Remy 59 Loic Remy Robin van Persie Alvaro Negredo Alvaro Negredo
7 Alvaro Negredo 56 Alvaro Negredo Loic Remy Loic Remy Daniel Sturridge
8 Robin van Persie 52 Robin van Persie Rickie Lambert Rickie Lambert Olivier Giroud
9 Rickie Lambert 47 Christian Benteke Alvaro Negredo Robin van Persie Robin van Persie
10 Daniel Sturridge 44 Daniel Sturridge E. Adebayor Daniel Sturridge Rickie Lambert
11 Christian Benteke 31 Rickie Lambert Jay Rodriguez Jay Rodriguez Danny Welbeck
12 Jay Rodriguez 28 Yoan Gouffran Christian Benteke Roberto Soldado Roberto Soldado
13 Roberto Soldado 27 Jay Rodriguez Daniel Sturridge Yoan Gouffran Dimitar Berbatov
14 Yoan Gouffran 18 Wilfried Bony Edin Dzeko Gabriel Agbonlahor Wilfried Bony
15 E. Adebayor 17 E. Adebayor Gary Hooper Christian Benteke Gabriel Agbonlahor
16 Danny Welbeck 17 Roberto Soldado Saido Berahino Gary Hooper Fernando Torres
17 Wilfried Bony 16 Gary Hooper Roberto Soldado Danny Welbeck Christian Benteke
18 Gary Hooper 15 Danny Welbeck Fernando Torres Peter Crouch Edin Dzeko
19 Gabriel Agbonlahor 13 Fernando Torres Wilfried Bony Dimitar Berbatov Maourane Chamakh
20 Edin Dzeko 11 Edin Dzeko Yoan Gouffran Fraizer Campbell Peter Crouch


1 Yaya Toure 76 Aaron Ramsey Aaron Ramsey Eden Hazard Yaya Toure
2 Aaron Ramsey 75 Yaya Toure Mesut Ozil Yaya Toure Mesut Ozil
3 Mesut Ozil 74 Mesut Ozil Yaya Toure Mesut Ozil Aaron Ramsey
4 Eden Hazard 68 Eden Hazard Eden Hazard Aaron Ramsey Samir Nasri
5 Steven Gerrard 63 David Silva Steven Gerrard Steven Gerrard Steven Gerrard
6 Adam Lallana 54 Steven Gerrard Oscar Oscar Adam Lallana
7 David Silva 51 Oscar David Silva Adam Lallana Eden Hazard
8 Samir Nasri 48 Yohan Cabaye Adam Lallana David Silva Moussa Sissoko
9 Yohan Cabaye 47 Adam Lallana Yohan Cabaye Yohan Cabaye Kevin Mirallas
10 Oscar 45 Jesus Navas Ross Barkley Samir Nasri Jordan Henderson
11 Kevin Mirallas 34 Philippe Coutinho Philippe Coutinho Jesus Navas Yohan Cabaye
12 Ross Barkley 33 Samir Nasri Kevin Mirallas Frank Lampard Ross Barkley
13 Jesus Navas 22 Frank Lampard Samir Nasri Santi Cazorla David Silva
14 Frank Lampard 22 Ross Barkley Kevin Nolan Kevin Mirallas Ahmed Elmohamady
15 Philippe Coutinho 20 Kevin Mirallas Paulinho Ross Barkley Fernandinho
16 Santi Cazorla 16 Kevin Nolan Frank Lampard Jonjo Shelvey Santi Cazorla
17 Jordan Henderson 15 Jordan Henderson Jordan Mutch Peter Whittingham Jonjo Shelvey
18 Jonjo Shelvey 14 Santi Cazorla Jonjo Shelvey Fernandinho Morgan Amalfitano
19 Moussa Sissoko 13 Jonjo Shelvey Leroy Fer Christian Eriksen Tom Cleverley
20 Kevin Nolan 12 Raheem Sterling Jesus Navas Hatem Ben Arfa Oscar


1 Seamus Coleman 77 Seamus Coleman Leighton Baines Seamus Coleman Seamus Coleman
2 Leighton Baines 72 Per Mertesacker Per Mertesacker John Terry Patrice Evra
3 Per Mertesacker 61 Pablo Zabaleta Branislav Ivanovic Per Mertesacker Leighton Baines
4 Pablo Zabaleta 60 Leighton Baines Seamus Coleman Leighton Baines Kyle Walker
5 Kyle Walker 59 John Terry Kyle Walker Pablo Zabaleta Branislav Ivanovic
6 Patrice Evra 56 Vincent Kompany Pablo Zabaleta Patrice Evra Martin Skrtel
7 Branislav Ivanovic 52 Branislav Ivanovic Vincent Kompany Phil Jagielka Laurent Koscielny
8 Laurent Koscielny 49 Kyle Walker Jan Vertonghen Kyle Walker Steven Caulker
9 Phil Jagielka 41 Patrice Evra Laurent Koscielny Laurent Koscielny Bacary Sagna
10 John Terry 37 Laurent Koscielny Phil Jagielka Jan Vertonghen Pablo Zabaleta
11 Vincent Kompany 36 Phil Jagielka Patrice Evra Bacary Sagna Ben Davies
12 Jan Vertonghen 32 Dejan Lovren Michael Dawson Sylvain Distin Chico
13 Bacary Sagna 28 Jan Vertonghen Chico Dejan Lovren Glen Johnson
14 Martin Sktrel 25 Aleksander Kolarov Aleksander Kolarov Garry Cahill Vincent Kompany
15 Dejan Lovren 20 Bacary Sagna Gary Cahill Martin Skrtel Phil Jagielka
16 Chico 27 Mathieu Debuchy Daniel Agger Jose Fonte Per Mertesacker
17 Aleksander Kolarov 14 Martin Skrtel Mathieu Debuchy Branislav Ivanovic Liam Ridgewell
18 Steven Caulker 13 Gareth McAuley Dejan Lovren Luke Shaw Phil Jones
19 Ben Davies 10 Gary Cahill John Terry Ryan Shawcross Gary Cahill
20 Gary Cahill 10 Matija Nastasic Luke Shaw Gareth McAuley Martin Olsson


1 Wojciech Szczesny 39 Wojciech Szczesny Wojciech Szczesny Wojciech Szczesny Tim Howard
2 Tim Howard 37 Tim Howard Tim Howard Tim Howard Wojciech Szczesny
3 Petr Cech 29 Petr Cech Petr Cech Simon Mignolet Simon Mignolet
4 Simon Mignolet 27 Simon Mignolet Hugo Lloris J. Jaaskelainen Petr Cech
5 Hugo Lloris 19 Tim Krul David de Gea Petr Cech David de Gea
6 Tim Krul 16 Joe Hart Simon Mignolet Tim Krul Hugo Lloris
7 David de Gea 15 Hugo Lloris J. Jaaskelainen Hugo Lloris Joe Hart
8 J. Jaaskelainen 11 David de Gea J. Jaaskelainen Hugo Lloris Joe Hart
9 Brad Guzan 10 Brad Guzan Asmir Begovic John Ruddy John Ruddy
10 Joe Hart 9 J. Jaaskelainen Artur Boruc Joe Hart Tim Krul